The thing with part-time goals (or milestones) is that they are just as dangerous as they can be a motivating factor if you really think about.

I’ve now been at this journey for 2.5 weeks, and I realized that 50+ lbs is a long way to go. With how easy I lose motivation, I realized that there is no way I’m gonna stay motivated, so I set up a bunch of milestones.

Like mentioned, these can be just as devastating for your longtime goal, as they can be that carrot you need to move forward. If you are like me, when you reach your goals, no matter how small they are, you still feel like celebrating. Maybe you take that extra cookie, or maybe even a small piece of cheesecake. Or just skip your diet and/or exercise for a day all together.

While the milestones are small and indicating you are on the right track, doing like me can be devastating for your longtime goal. That’s why I’m writing this post, to remind you, but mostly myself, that reaching a milestone is awesome! And sure, celebrate it, take that soda, or drink, but keep it at that. Because remember . . . It’s still just a milestone, it’s not your all-time goal, and even then, you still have to learn how to maintain your new weight.

